Fish Tails….No! – Tales

Drizzle of Fig Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Drizzle of Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress .com

Alright fellow wordsmith’s, I am turning the tables and asking you to tell me your favorite, maybe your tallest…fish tale.

Steelhead-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Steelhead-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

I’ll go first with the two that pop into my mind…the first one is amongst willow saplings along a rushing stream between Grant and Silver Lakes on the June Lakes Loop. Dad and I are fishing this stream fed with snowmelt likely flowing out of the Ansel Adams Wilderness area .  If you’ve ever been in this area you know of it’s amazing rugged beauty, if not, you need to add this to your bucket list of places to see.  Do you ride motorcycle?  Thee best way to see this area….oh my!  Just don’t get so distracted by the beauty that you go shiny side down! If you ride a dual sport then add in the ride out to Bodie.  If you like geology, take in Devil’s Postpile too.

Steelhead-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Sweet & Juicy O’Henry Peach……cordelctatio@wordpress.com

Back to fishing.  So we are fishing this little stream and I hook and land a fish for which I am excited.  I’ve always enjoyed fishing – WHILE  I am catching – otherwise I grow bored or feel guilty that I am wasting time.  However, I cannot get the hook out of this little fish and I do not want it to get off of the hook.  So I wrap my little hand tightly around the fish, clutch it to my jacket and take off for the help of my hero – my daddy.  With the very same patience that had expended countless hours teaching me to fish and replace so much lost gear..he removes the hook and places it on the stringer.  Fish on hook + fish securely landed + fish off hook and on stringer = one happy daughter.

Steelehad-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Rosemary Grilled Steelhead Fillet, Peach, Sweet Red Pepper…and Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Redamonti’s Riffle on the Sacramento River is the stage of the second story and opens with me standing knee deep in cold water watching steelehead dink at freckles on my legs. First time fishing for steelhead and I caught – well, well, I caught a jack salmon.  There is a polaroid somewhere with me proudly holding my 6.25 pound jack salmon.  Actually I hadn’t had much experience fishing in a river, mostly streams, so when it came to reeling this salmon in I had trouble and could not get the hang of reeling while keeping pressure on the hook.  “Where there is a will there is a way”.  SOooo, I start walking backwards on the vast spans of exposed rocks in this sweeping bend of the river.  Back.  Back. Back, until that fabulous little salmon came a’dragging out of the water.  Alright, alright, stop ‘ur laughing, now.  It was on land.  It was my first salmon.  True to my style, I got ‘er done.

Grilled Steelhead-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Grilled Steelhead-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

And this is how it looks when I am about to consume it.

Now, it’s your turn.  Share away…

Grilled Steelhead-Peach Salad w/ Peach Balsamic

2 steelhead fillets (mine were frozen-from Costco)

1 large sprig fresh rosemary, halved

EVOO

4 thick slices Havarti cheese, cubed

1 peach, sliced or chunked

1 sweet red pepper, seeded, chopped

1/2 cucumber, peeled, chopped

Peach Balsamic, I use Lucero’s

Romaine lettuce leaves

Cilantro Leaves, pulled from stem and roughly chopped

Heat your grill and oil the grate with the EVOO on a paper towel, using tongs to hold the towel and rub the oil on.  Lay fish fillets on grill grate.  Grill till fillet shows light pink on the bottom.  Flip fillet and lay rosemary sprig on and finish grilling.

Tear romaine into bite sized pieces.  Tho I must be honest, when I make it for myself, I cut my romaine.  Flake the cooked steelhead on top of the romaine, layer on the cucumber, sweet red pepper, chunked Havarti and sliced peach. Sprinkle the chopped cilantro over the top.  Lightly drizzle with Peach Balsamic.  I had a half slice of cooked bacon that I chopped and added and I did not reduce the Balsamic.  I used it straight from the bottle so drizzle sparingly.

Enjoy and as always…Bless and Be Blessed.

This entry was posted in California, Cooking, Fishing, Food, Recipes, Sports & Recreation, Travel/Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.