I Scream, You Scream, We All …

Now be gentle with me as I am about to REALLY date myself.

Crispy Cookies into Yummy Ice Cream ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Crumbled Crispy Cookies for Ice Cream ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

My family had a number of Bill Cosby records that we would put on and have a hearty belly laugh. I mean really LOL long before the acronym LOL was tossed around!!!   From another room I would hear my brothers imitating Fat Albert, “Hey, hey, hey”.  The record that comes to mind tho is the one where Bill talks about having tonsils removed,  “ICE Cream! We’re gonna get ICE Cream!!!”  If I recall correctly the adult world is trying to sell the concept of tonsil removal by talking up all of the ICE Cream! afterwards.

ICE Cream Makin's w/ Rum Vanilla ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

I.C. Maker, Milk, Whipping Cream, Rum Vanilla Extract ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

My father is a habitual consumer of ice cream.  It is a nightly ritual that even their little dog reminds them of (that is a whole other post).  Mom just goes along for the shared delight with the man she loves.  They have small glass dishes that dad places one scoop for mom and two for himself into. Even at 80 he is still so active that he remains trim.  As a boy in his parents restaurant along the Eel River in the California Redwoods he and his brothers would sneak into the large containers of ice cream in the freezer.

Crispy Cookie Crumbs ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Crispy Cookie Crumbs ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

I have shared my Pineapple Balsamic Ice Cream with you, so with having some overdone cookies and not being able to throw them out I settled on Crispy Cookie Crumble Ice Cream.  Quite simple.  Basic Vanilla Ice Cream recipe and at the last minute stir in your favorite, or overdone, cookie – crumbled.  I guess my french rolling pin is still in a box somewhere so I used my meat tenderizer to crumble my cookies.  I use the side of it to crack nuts also.  I am no photographer but I happen to like how the afternoon sunlight shines through my kitchen zone window and casts shadows on food items.

Silver Palate moment ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Silver Palate moment….crumbles a la silver server ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

This week was Crispy Cookie Crumble Ice Cream and my next chilly epicurean adventure will be Carmelized Fig & Walnut Ice Cream.  Plan to try my hand at a Paleo rendition of it. Will let you know how it comes out.

Crispy Cookie Crumble Ice Cream ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Crispy Cookie Crumble Ice Cream ~ cordelectatio@wordpress.com

Fig season is winding down so I have been busily jamming away and savoring the perfect little package – figs.  Ooh, I just remembered that in short order Persimmons will be ripening.  Bring on the frost!

I am not advocating screaming, but you might politely, persuasively and assertively pursue the consumption of some creamy, chilly, deliciousness.  Oh, what the heck, go ahead, a good scream once in a bit does a body good….WE ALL SCREAM FOR ICE CREAM!

Basic Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe for Cuisinart I.C. Maker

1 cup milk                                                         3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 cups whipping cream                                    1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 pinch of salt                                                    Cookie crumbles

In a medium bowl, use a hand mixer or whisk to combine milk and sugar until sugar dissolves, about 1-2 minutes on low speed.  (I use a whisk.) Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla to taste. (I chill it for 10-15 minutes in my freezer.) Turn the Cuisinart Automatic Frozen Yogurt Ice Cream & Sorbet Maker on, pour mixture into freezer bowl through the ingredient spout and let mix until thickened, about 25-30 minutes.  To add the cookie crumbles watch as the mixture thickens and add through ingredient spout about 5 minutes before ice cream is finished.

Hope to see you back here soon….Bless and Be Blessed.

This entry was posted in California, Cooking, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.